[RP/MM] CSA v. WiE - Invasion - Miquleon 1315 - [Pending Cycle 41 ;)]

Started by DisGruntled, June 18, 2010, 01:58:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DisGruntled

A flash of light announces the arrival of a CSA task force in the Miquelon system.  Even as the force began moving in system, deploying a large CAP as it went, the following message went out system wide.

"Civilians of Miquelon, we have come to relieve you from the bandits who currently call this system home.  As long as you do not aide the bandits directly, no harm shall come to you and yours and your life will remain otherwise unchanged.  I do urge you take shelter as we approach this planet, as the bandit wolves have been known to take refuge hiding amidst civilians.  We have learned to expect nothing better from them and shall strive to limit and replace and damages we cause in their removal of their presence.  As for the bandit scum, know that doom awaits you and shall be arriving shortly."

OOC: A Monsoon leads a large swarm of fighters and dropships (130.5 FP IIRC) to break any defensive interdiction or to offensively interdict WiE forces.  No blockade is present.

NVA

Well past posting deadline.  Invoking rules and calling it invalidated.

Dave Baughman

Dis, is this the same Monsoon taskforce that was stuck at Timehri waiting for hostile movement clearance?

If so, the holdup was beyond your control and this thread is legit. If it is a different force then NVA appears to be in order when he invokes the post timing rule.

Please let us know so we can determine the status of this operation (I would just check the orders, but I am at work and I can't download the sheets to this terminal...)
And I looked, and behold a pale horse: and his name that sat on him was Apollyon, and Hell followed with him. And power was given unto them over the fourth part of the earth, to kill with sword, and with hunger, and with death, and with the beasts of the earth.


NVA

PM sent to GMs for clarification based on the Ruling that Rules are Rules from a couple of cycles ago.

NVA

I have not looked myself, but have been told that Invasions can only go 1 hex deep.  Miquelon is too deep to reach.  Also, is that the same Monsoon and fleet that is busy playing at Mahone, the hex before Timerhi?

DisGruntled

Yes this is the force that was held up at Timehri (and Mahone). I thought I'd included an apology for lateness of posting, but it appears I didn't which I apologize about now. 

How many hexes deep are we into the WiE zone/nation?  The TH and DC attacks against the Adder OZ,  HH OZ, and Camel / FM zones have all followed similar routes passing through neutral or "hostile" territory.

The actions at Mahone were only intended as an RP plot hook (which the whole fire is since it's outside the rules).  In hindsight leaving a 100 or so salamanders from one of the Mobile Infantry units might have made more sense, but kinetic orbital strikes can be so much more fun. ;)

The whole actions not really a big deal with some of the other stuff going on this cycle, so whatever happens here will at most set us back only a cycle or two.


Holt

[You cannot cross habited systems under hostile movement and still invade. Example is the DC attack on New Caledonia a few turns back, because i pass through WC territory under hostile movement, i was not able to invade.]

Dave Baughman

Quote from: NVA on June 18, 2010, 06:34:57 PM
PM sent to GMs for clarification based on the Ruling that Rules are Rules from a couple of cycles ago.

Two key points:


  • The "10th of the month" rule is not currently in the rulebook, and is subject to GM discretion.
  • In addition to the delay from Timhri, there were other back-end delays which were not the CSA's fault

Quote from: NVA on June 18, 2010, 07:01:36 PM
I have not looked myself, but have been told that Invasions can only go 1 hex deep.  Miquelon is too deep to reach.  Also, is that the same Monsoon and fleet that is busy playing at Mahone, the hex before Timerhi?

After reviewing the text of the rules with regard to Hostile movement, NVA is correct:

QuoteHostile Territory Movement

If, for some reason, an attacking force needs to move through hostile territory, it risks identification and attack from local defenders.

The attacking player must identify the hexes traveled, one at a time, to the defender (via forum post or PM with a CC to the GM's). In each situation, the defender may be provided the FP value and given the option to engage or ignore. All engagements are naval/aero by nature, and are forced. 

Attacking forces intent on raids may only travel 2 hexes deep into hostile territory. Attacking forces intent on invasions may not travel through hostile territory. Forces on Hunting orders may travel through hostile territory at whim, but must follow these rules on the way out, as well as the way in - assuming the destination is within enemy territory.

CSA can still enter the system, but it would have to wait until next turn to Invade due to its use of Hostile Territory Movement this turn.
And I looked, and behold a pale horse: and his name that sat on him was Apollyon, and Hell followed with him. And power was given unto them over the fourth part of the earth, to kill with sword, and with hunger, and with death, and with the beasts of the earth.

DisGruntled

So I was both right and wrong on this action.    Can any actions be done here or is this done for the cycle with the Adders owning the orbitals since based on intel I don't think the WiE would want to be contesting it?

Dave Baughman

Quote from: DisGruntled on June 21, 2010, 12:36:12 AM
So I was both right and wrong on this action.    Can any actions be done here or is this done for the cycle with the Adders owning the orbitals since based on intel I don't think the WiE would want to be contesting it?

Pretty much the part in red. WIE could attack you in response to you moving into the hex, but otherwise there's not much that could occur this round (barring something unexpected like offensive interdiction against an unplanned WIE evacuation or something)
And I looked, and behold a pale horse: and his name that sat on him was Apollyon, and Hell followed with him. And power was given unto them over the fourth part of the earth, to kill with sword, and with hunger, and with death, and with the beasts of the earth.

NVA

"Star Adder forces, this is Planetary Governor Davidson.  We appear to have equipment failure, as we can not identify your force.  However, we would appreciate your assistance with the only bandit presence we have.  We have a force of the cowards and will transmit their coordinates at the end of this transmission.  They have been known to perform cowardly acts and kill without the honor of true warriors, as we understand you claim to be."

A transmission of coordinates is sent to the Adders.  In it, the Adder task force itself is clearly identified.

"Our friends, Clan Wolf, currently do not have a force to deal with the cowards in the warships above.  The owners of the ships have been known to use weapons of mass destruction and you stopping them in space would be welcome, if you are able.  However, Clan Wolf has the ground covered well and are performing the duties required of a true warrior.  Given the fact that they are our requested protector, we ask that your respect the choices of our government, as reports state you have at other worlds, and do not attempt to land.  If you are powerless to stop the bandits with the Monsoon, we understand and wish you well as you recharge your drives and return back to Star Adder space."

LittleH13

NVA are you attacking the arriving forces or are you waiting until next turn? If you are waiting state so, then this can be marked as complete.

NVA


LittleH13

[OOC- Dis please mark this thread as *Complete*, a new thread for turn 41 will have to be opened.]