Rules Discussion

Started by Dave Baughman, March 22, 2010, 01:15:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dave Baughman

The R&D results that lead to the huge trade bonuses were eratta'd out of the game by Ashenwelt during his administration, so they haven't been in the game for a while (though the public version of the R&D charts was never updated). Overhauling R&D more thoroughly is on my 'to do' list for the future, so eventually there will be a new results chart.

I'd like to have some sort of trade incentive event like that in the future, but it'll have to be rebalanced since the version in the old rules was (I think we can all agree) overpowered.

Quote from: Marlin on May 12, 2010, 06:31:44 PM
I meant the loop to create boni for the trading factions. Standard trade of course is still in action.

Quote from: Dave Baughman on May 11, 2010, 07:53:49 PM
Quote from: Marlin on May 11, 2010, 06:21:58 PM
I have a clarification question: Trading rules no longer apply, right?

At least I did not see them.

Was there a specific part you had in mind? I removed a lot of rules that had been superceded or were no longer in force regarding trade. In general the only rule for trade is that both parties have to agree to the deal and the RP should be either posted on the boards or PM'd with the GMs copied.

Only in extreme or wildly OOC situations would the GMs deny a trade.
And I looked, and behold a pale horse: and his name that sat on him was Apollyon, and Hell followed with him. And power was given unto them over the fourth part of the earth, to kill with sword, and with hunger, and with death, and with the beasts of the earth.

Marlin

Ok. Thats what I wanted to know. :)

Thanks.

Marlin

I have a minor question regarding Interdictions: if 2 or more factions interdict together, do they count as one group? Or should they be treated separately?

Background of my question is the Multi-faction Op, where you need to post all at once, and need commanders and then it counts as one party.

I also remember the fights of Adder Beta Naval Star, where the hunting forces were taken on separately?

Could be wrong, though.

Dave Baughman

Quote from: Marlin on May 12, 2010, 08:21:50 PM
I have a minor question regarding Interdictions: if 2 or more factions interdict together, do they count as one group? Or should they be treated separately?

Background of my question is the Multi-faction Op, where you need to post all at once, and need commanders and then it counts as one party.

I also remember the fights of Adder Beta Naval Star, where the hunting forces were taken on separately?

Could be wrong, though.

Multiple factions can only combine their forces for interdiction if they follow the rules for coordinated operations. Otherwise, they would be two separate interdiction forces.
And I looked, and behold a pale horse: and his name that sat on him was Apollyon, and Hell followed with him. And power was given unto them over the fourth part of the earth, to kill with sword, and with hunger, and with death, and with the beasts of the earth.

Fatebringer

Do interdictions stop Hostile Territory movement automatically? No Raid Transit rolls?

http://intelser.org/forums/index.php?topic=281.msg3624#msg3624

Holt

Quote from: Fatebringer on May 17, 2010, 06:25:31 PM
Do interdictions stop Hostile Territory movement automatically? No Raid Transit rolls?

http://intelser.org/forums/index.php?topic=281.msg3624#msg3624


Hostile Movement can be engaged by any ASF in the hex, does not matter for what purpose the movement is being done for.

Fatebringer

Understood, but no chance at Pirate insertion or Raid Transit?

Holt

QuoteThe attacking player must identify the hexes traveled, one at a time, to the defender (via forum post or PM with a CC to the GM's). In each situation, the defender may be provided the FP value and given the option to engage or ignore. All engagements are naval/aero by nature, and are forced.


Sadly no.

Dave Baughman

Pirate transit avoids all air defense, so effectively it will prevent a hostile hex owner from stopping movement. It will not, however, prevent hostile travel from preventing combat operations based on the number of hexes moved.
And I looked, and behold a pale horse: and his name that sat on him was Apollyon, and Hell followed with him. And power was given unto them over the fourth part of the earth, to kill with sword, and with hunger, and with death, and with the beasts of the earth.

Dave Baughman

Just to give everyone a heads up, I edited the Technology Transfer rule today. The rule was not changed, but I had written it in gibberish and put in wrong/incomplete information when I copied it over. The rule now reflects the correct reading of it (the way it worked prior to the move - no changes to it).
And I looked, and behold a pale horse: and his name that sat on him was Apollyon, and Hell followed with him. And power was given unto them over the fourth part of the earth, to kill with sword, and with hunger, and with death, and with the beasts of the earth.

Fatebringer

Question: Are Damage done by Orbital Bombardment still open to salvage? Those units are kinda squishy. :P It occurred to me that units that OB and never land have no chance at possible salvage.

Dave Baughman

Quote from: Fatebringer on May 18, 2010, 04:39:14 PM
Question: Are Damage done by Orbital Bombardment still open to salvage? Those units are kinda squishy. :P It occurred to me that units that OB and never land have no chance at possible salvage.

The "unofficial official" rule from the old boards that units that took more than 2x their FP are unsalvageable is currently not an official rule, so orbital attack casualties can/can currently be salvaged.

This may change in the future, as the 2x rule was actually a pretty good one. Too bad it never got documented in writing  ::)
And I looked, and behold a pale horse: and his name that sat on him was Apollyon, and Hell followed with him. And power was given unto them over the fourth part of the earth, to kill with sword, and with hunger, and with death, and with the beasts of the earth.

Daemonknight

Question: where in the rules does it discuss damage dealt by an orbital bombardment? i might have my hand forced into one...
"My only regret is that I will not be alive in .03 seconds. I would have liked to watch the enemy attempt to vent an omnidirectional thermonuclear blast enveloping their outpost."
-Last thoughts of Maldon, Type XXX Bolo, 3rd Battalion, Dinochrome Brigade

Dave Baughman

The pertinent orders are these:

Quote
General Orbital Bombardment
Type: Battle
Effect: Damage or destroy all hex elements on a specific planet. Roll 2D6, 2 – 10, that is the number of turns that hex elements will not produce resource points, on an 11 or 12, all the hex improvements are destroyed.
Note: May only be completed by WarShips. The use of this order cannot be concealed with Disseminate Disinformation.

Quote
Tactical Orbital Bombardment
Type: Battle
Effect: Ground targets will suffer considerable damage with no ability to return fire. For every 10FP of warships, the opposing faction's ground forces suffer 2D6 damage in FP. For every roll of 2 or 3, the faction's own ground units suffer 2D6 damage in FP due to friendly fire. Defending units may react with Scatter orders to reduce damage.

also noteworthy is:

Quote
Scatter
Type: Special
Effect: Forces can be scattered to avoid orbital attacks. Scattering makes all but 2d6+5% of the force immune to orbital attacks, but also leaves 2d6% of the force out of position and unable to participate in the next round of combat (invasion scenarios).
And I looked, and behold a pale horse: and his name that sat on him was Apollyon, and Hell followed with him. And power was given unto them over the fourth part of the earth, to kill with sword, and with hunger, and with death, and with the beasts of the earth.

Jeyar

I should bring this up, as I don't want to be cheating, even if it hurts me.

I was told a while ago that ammo types didn't count towards your unit being level 1 or 2. I believed it, even if at the time the TC didn't have cool ammo. We do now have access to such, and while I have not been accused of cheating, I just want to make sure that I am not in fact doing so.

To sum up, if you have a "level 1 unit" and you are using special ammo, does that mean you actually have a level 2 unit?

I'm hoping it is still a no, but I want to make sure.