[RP/MM] T43 CIH vs Skye 2017 Summit Invasion [complete]

Started by Marlin, October 13, 2010, 09:45:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dave Baughman

Quote from: Marlin on October 18, 2010, 11:01:55 AM
Can you point me to the Initiative roll? I never saw that in the rules. When NVA established this to my knowledge, others took that up. But if it was never codified, I wont care for it. Therefore we just need one roll.

QuoteCombat Procedure

The general procedure for combat is as follows:

1. Initiative: all involved factions roll 2d6 to determine the order they will declare orders in.

2. Declare Orders: each faction announces its actions.

3. Special Scenarios: any unique rules or conditions should be disclosed at this point (if they have not already).

4. Resolution: play MegaMek or roll for simple resolution.

5. Damage Control: any force that took damage but survived the combat regains 10% of the lost FP (round to the nearest 0.25).

6. Conclusion: in Raid and Battle type scenarios, the attacker withdraws to an adjacent friendly hex (if applicable). In Invasions, repeat steps 1-5 as neccessary until the Invasion has been completed.

Note: Each turn only contains six combat rounds. Invasion scenarios that continue past round six spill over into the next turn.

7. Salvage: Determine the total actual damage sustained and roll 2d6 to determine the percentage that is salvageable. Add a +5 bonus for raids, +10 for battles, and +15 for invasions (as well as an additional +10 incentive bonus if all operations were played out in MegaMek). Salvage is claimed by the faction that ends the turn in control of the planet, except for raids where the raider may roll on the Raid Salvage chart to steal a percentage of the available salvage (apply a +2 modifier if the raid was successful)*.

*If the operation was a Clan trial, and Zellbrigen was upheld for the entire fight, salvage is automatically 50%.
And I looked, and behold a pale horse: and his name that sat on him was Apollyon, and Hell followed with him. And power was given unto them over the fourth part of the earth, to kill with sword, and with hunger, and with death, and with the beasts of the earth.

Marlin

Thanks Dave. However, what happens if both have the same Roll?

Dave Baughman

Quote from: Marlin on October 18, 2010, 12:51:49 PM
Thanks Dave. However, what happens if both have the same Roll?

Good question. If you have a straight-up tie on operational initiative, I'd say you guys should roll off to break the tie (though I don't believe that's explicitly spelled out in the rules)
And I looked, and behold a pale horse: and his name that sat on him was Apollyon, and Hell followed with him. And power was given unto them over the fourth part of the earth, to kill with sword, and with hunger, and with death, and with the beasts of the earth.

Deathrider6

Quote from: Dave Baughman on October 18, 2010, 04:46:26 PM
Quote from: Marlin on October 18, 2010, 12:51:49 PM
Thanks Dave. However, what happens if both have the same Roll?

Good question. If you have a straight-up tie on operational initiative, I'd say you guys should roll off to break the tie (though I don't believe that's explicitly spelled out in the rules)

  In the past it was simultaneous combat just like the board game. Just an FYI.

Dave Baughman

Quote from: Deathrider6 on October 18, 2010, 07:07:37 PM
Quote from: Dave Baughman on October 18, 2010, 04:46:26 PM
Quote from: Marlin on October 18, 2010, 12:51:49 PM
Thanks Dave. However, what happens if both have the same Roll?

Good question. If you have a straight-up tie on operational initiative, I'd say you guys should roll off to break the tie (though I don't believe that's explicitly spelled out in the rules)

  In the past it was simultaneous combat just like the board game. Just an FYI.

Since its not specifically spelled out one way or the other, that's fine with me as well. Pretty much comes down to "mutual agreement" in the absence of a hard and fast rule after all.
And I looked, and behold a pale horse: and his name that sat on him was Apollyon, and Hell followed with him. And power was given unto them over the fourth part of the earth, to kill with sword, and with hunger, and with death, and with the beasts of the earth.

Marlin

I guess I just roll for Damage then.

[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 2, 4, total 6[/blockquote]

Marlin

Summit force receives .25 FP damage,

CIH force receives .75 FP of damage.

.75 left for Summit

.5 left for CIH. How disruption works I do not know, considering this is just one splinterforce.

CIH would send in reinforcements. But as I say, not sure. If not allowed, this fight goes on. (Not making sense, though.)


Dave Baughman

Quote from: Marlin on October 18, 2010, 08:25:10 PM
Summit force receives .25 FP damage,

CIH force receives .75 FP of damage.

.75 left for Summit

.5 left for CIH. How disruption works I do not know, considering this is just one splinterforce.

CIH would send in reinforcements. But as I say, not sure. If not allowed, this fight goes on. (Not making sense, though.)



Disruption affects only the force that participated in combat, so if you have more troops in the system they can still receive orders in the second operational round.
And I looked, and behold a pale horse: and his name that sat on him was Apollyon, and Hell followed with him. And power was given unto them over the fourth part of the earth, to kill with sword, and with hunger, and with death, and with the beasts of the earth.

Marlin


Dave Baughman

For op round 2, the forces that actually fought in the battle can only use defense orders. However, any troops that weren't in the actual fight can jump in.

If everyone attacked during op round 1, then op round 2 will basically be a mexican standoff since those forces on the ground can't attack and the militia won't willingly charge to their deaths (even if they are just delaying the inevitable).
And I looked, and behold a pale horse: and his name that sat on him was Apollyon, and Hell followed with him. And power was given unto them over the fourth part of the earth, to kill with sword, and with hunger, and with death, and with the beasts of the earth.

Deathrider6

OOC:This was a trial IIRC. If the hellions want to break the bid that's fine but it will have repercussions later. The Attack happened during a holiday period wich explains the drunken banter at the beginning by the milliz in the RP. The Sober commander of the Gacrux SPM would hope that an honorable trial would be conducted. Either way the Hellions go does not bother me but the IC repercussions might make things interesting.


   Borean Contient,Summit.

  "Clan Commander you have fought honorably. Withdraw your forces and return to your space.

Marlin

The Commander calls down additional Forces. The Khan grants him but 2 more FP, though.

This side of the IS seems to be a horrible experience for the Ice Hellions.

The fresh force attacks immediately.

[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 4, 1, total 5[/blockquote]

Marlin


Deathrider6

[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 4, 5, total 9[/blockquote] Gacrux SPM force counter attacks.

Deathrider6

The above is defensive. Skye does not re-enforce keeping to the letter of the trial as issued.