[RP/MM] C38: Clans v. DC/WiE - Leskovik 2113 [Mostly Completed]

Started by DisGruntled, April 14, 2010, 07:10:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GreyJaeger

http://www.classicbattletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=48126.0

The link goes to the rule as it is in place now. The rule you are using is the old rule/new rule starting in Turn 39.



Daemonknight

Galaxy Commander Heston Shi-Lu, having heard that enemy naval forces had been eliminated, ordered his troops to the surface of Leskovik.

"Clan Wolves-in-Exile, i am Galaxy Commander Heston Shi-Lu, of the Jade Falcon Mu Galaxy. I have come to conduct a Trial of Possession for this system. I have numerous Clusters from multiple Galaxies at my command...with what forces shall you defend your claim to this world?"

As the dropships of the Falcons began their descent, the skies above Leskovik churned, the weather patterns boiling at the mass that was forcing its way into the atmosphere.

((OOC: 266.8 FP Jade Falcon Forces, Mixed Aero/Ground))
"My only regret is that I will not be alive in .03 seconds. I would have liked to watch the enemy attempt to vent an omnidirectional thermonuclear blast enveloping their outpost."
-Last thoughts of Maldon, Type XXX Bolo, 3rd Battalion, Dinochrome Brigade

NVA

CWiE had no ground troops here and did not take the world.  We merely provided the naval support.  So, as I understand there are no Dracs on planet, you face Drac militia I guess.

Marlin

If there were no Dracs in the first place, this is still Jade Falcon as no one seized the world. So, Falcon Militia.

Daemonknight

Uhm, i dont think it would go over well in the Falcon Clan Council if i landed troops and killed my own Militia ;)
"My only regret is that I will not be alive in .03 seconds. I would have liked to watch the enemy attempt to vent an omnidirectional thermonuclear blast enveloping their outpost."
-Last thoughts of Maldon, Type XXX Bolo, 3rd Battalion, Dinochrome Brigade

NVA

Quote from: Marlin on April 24, 2010, 12:30:34 PM
If there were no Dracs in the first place, this is still Jade Falcon as no one seized the world. So, Falcon Militia.

Dracs took the planet.  I am just telling you what I was told.  No Dracs here.  You would need to talk with Holt and Dave to figure out what exactly is going on.

Daemonknight

ok then, just waiting to see what militia forces if any are trying to stop the Falcons from taking the planet
"My only regret is that I will not be alive in .03 seconds. I would have liked to watch the enemy attempt to vent an omnidirectional thermonuclear blast enveloping their outpost."
-Last thoughts of Maldon, Type XXX Bolo, 3rd Battalion, Dinochrome Brigade

NVA

OOC - Please hold...I am trying to find the thread on CBT.  If the Drac ground forces never took the world, then the Exiles should not still be here at the start of this turn, as we were not on appropriate orders to stay in hostile territory.

Parmenion

That is in the past Noe.  Both my IS faction and Clan have faced similar situations before in regards what has occured and basically been told to suck it up by the GMs and live with it.   The C37 Leskovik thread stated that both WiE and Draconis Combine forces were invading/blockading the place.  A number of clan players spent considerable time planning for C38 of which Leskovik is a major part.  It still concerns me that the Dracs have somehow managed to not be able to be there, however you stated your forces precisely (including ship types).  As far as I'm concerned your Cameron class ran the blockade, so good luck to it.  While the rest of your naval force was destroyed.


Daemonknight

ok, so as far as ground is concerned, if the offical view is "suck it up, the Dracs arnt there", does that mean that essentially the Clan forces trying to 'retake' the planet get there and find that it was never invaded in the first place?
"My only regret is that I will not be alive in .03 seconds. I would have liked to watch the enemy attempt to vent an omnidirectional thermonuclear blast enveloping their outpost."
-Last thoughts of Maldon, Type XXX Bolo, 3rd Battalion, Dinochrome Brigade

NVA

Parm...I asked for some time to look into it is all.  Further, I am looking into whether I have a valid point that the official rules thread on this site lists the rule I posted versus the version that the OOC thread references.  Thank you for your patience while I try to contact ADB.

Dave Baughman

Hi guys, I apologize for not adressing this sooner. If you have sent me PMs on the subject, please be aware that I have a double-digit number of PMs in my box right now so I may not have read them yet... I'm not ignoring you, just un-burying myself right now.

As best as I can tell, what happened OOC is:


  • In turn 37, a combined WIE/DC naval force entered Leskovic on naval engagement orders. They found no opposition in space.
  • No ground engagement occured, and the planet remained under JF control (albeit with hostile warships in orbit).
  • Due to some creative movement orders, the DC force ended its turn in a different hex, effectively leaving the WIE holding the bag.
  • Based on the OOC commentary here, it appears that the DC did not notify the WIE of this "maneuver."

IC, this is the sequence of events:


  • Turn 37 - Combined DC and WIE forces enter the system.
  • Turn 37 - DC force leaves the system (presumedly right at the end of the turn).
  • Turn 38 - Clan counterattack force arrives, rolling a higher initiative than the WIE.
  • Turn 38 - Clan blockade is in place prior to WIE leaving the system.
  • Turn 38 - WIE commanders realize they have been shafted by their Inner Sphere allies yet again.


As some have correctly pointed out, the rules rollback on bloackeds does not take effect until next turn. This is in direct response to player feedback asking for more lead time on rules changes (which in turn grew out of dissatisfaction with the "lightning erratas" that occasionally occured on CBT).

Having said that, I have no problem with the new rules being implemented in this thread as long as there are no objections. That's a decision for you all to make as players.

Please shoot me a PM if there are additional concerns or issues growing out of this and I will try to address them ASAP. I will also answer any addition items that have already been PM'd to me as soon as I get caught up on my backlog.
And I looked, and behold a pale horse: and his name that sat on him was Apollyon, and Hell followed with him. And power was given unto them over the fourth part of the earth, to kill with sword, and with hunger, and with death, and with the beasts of the earth.

NVA

Clearly, I would prefer the working rules to the special interest broken rule that was the 'errata'.  But, I will wait to see responses from the others.

Marlin

I planned with the old rule still in effect, so I want it to stay. The situation here is bad enough as we expected much more forces to nail, so..

Anyway, I am for the "intermediate" rule. Next turn the switch, as was written.