[Init just in case: (http://intelser.org/forums/Themes/default/images/dice_warn.gif) This dice roll has been tampered with!
Rolled 2d6 : 3, 5, total 8]
The traitor Wolves had been hammer from all sides, but they had beaten the Sharks here last month and it had to be rectified...
"Dezgra Wolf Clan, I Star Colonel Horn am here to succeed where my subordinates failed. I bring with me elements of the Diamond Shark Touman to remove this space station from you possession, with what forces do you deny my claim?!?"
[OCC
In the hex already not subject to init:
4th Stingray Garrison ASF Cluster Transported Aero Transported Regular Reliable 35
On offensive interdiction.
1st Mantaray Strikers Marines Transported Regular Reliable 12.5
Trailing force
Coming into the hex, subject to init.
Might of the Sea Nightlord LFB Mobile Regular Reliable 24
Fox's Cunning Texas (Clan) LFB Mobile Regular Reliable 25.75
Haai York LFB Mobile Regular Reliable 17
On Blockade.
OCC]
For the record, prior to the modification of the head topic, I acknowledge that the init roll for the Diamond Sharks is an 8
Wolf Init
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 5, 1, total 6[/blockquote]
The Wolf formations tightened up on the dropships laden with the infrastructure from the space station. A group of fighters took point.
"Star Colonel Horn, I am Star Colonel Adam of the Xi Galaxy Periphery PGC. Our forces have already defeated your forces for possession of this station. If you wish to trial for it again, so be it. However, the rest of my men and our infrastructure, which you failed to secure previously, are leaving. I will lead a star of my aerospace fighters for possession of the station itself. However, when we defeat you again, you will provide us with the lift capacity necessary to relocate our assets on a better timeline. Do you have enough trust in the ability of you and your men to face us under these conditions?"
"Your infrastructure will leave -if- you defeat my bid and i would not push that issue. My trailing force was Marines, but i see you are packing up and leaving; so i have no choice to defer to my naval counterpart."
"This is Star Admiral Nagasawa commander of the Nightlord-class Might of the Sea, my first instincts are to bid Binary of Fighters to show you the honor that someone who turns against the Clans deserves, but against my better judgment I will cutdown my bid to a single Star of Fighters; to remember one last time just how great your Clan was once."
[OCC
I will match whatever FP you put up.
OCC]
"Your trial was for the station. The infrastructure is no longer part of the station. Your force that was here previously had the opportunity and failed. If you want the station itself, then your trial is accepted with our counter offer."
OOC - I did miss how you had broken out your forces. I can meet your marine force if you wish.
[Doesn't matter really the original trial was said by a Marine unit, but i can take a piece out my ASF unit to meet the ASF bid.]
"Our medium star shall face you for possession of the space station only. They are moving into position now."
OOC - 1 FP moving into position to trial.
Clan Diamond Shark fighters move into possition.
Damage roll.
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 6, 1, total 7[/blockquote]
Wolf Damage Roll
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 5, 5, total 10[/blockquote]
Wolf Crit Chance -
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 4, 2, total 6[/blockquote]
End of Round 1
CDS - 1 FP Start - 75% Damage Taken = .25 FP to end
CW - 1 FP Start - 50% Damage Taken = .5 FP to end
IC:
"Clan Diamond Shark, you have fought well, but been defeated again. Allow us to leave and you may have the station itself. You are hereby offered hegira."
"Neg, the Sharks will not be denied; I Star Admiral Nagasawa call down a part of my previous bid in the form of 3 points of ASF fighters."
[OCC Brings it back up to an even engagement.]
Damage Roll.
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 3, 6, total 9[/blockquote]
"Ahh, the desperation of the clans. It would be surprising, if not for the fall that has been watched."
Wolf Damage Roll
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 4, 2, total 6[/blockquote]
CDS - .5 FP Starting - 50% from the Wolfs = .25
CW - .5 FP starting - 70% from the Sharks = .15, rounds to .25
CDS crit chance:
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 4, 3, total 7[/blockquote]
Round 3, CDS adding .25FP to their bid, but only engaging with .25FP out of the now .50FP possible.
Damage roll:
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 5, 4, total 9[/blockquote]
Crit chance:
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 6, 3, total 9[/blockquote]
Crit 1:
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 5, 5, total 10[/blockquote]
Crit is worthless....
Round 3 Wolf
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 3, 5, total 8[/blockquote]
Wolf Crit Chance
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 1, 1, total 2[/blockquote]
It was a brutal slugging match and only through the addition of combat forces, Clan Diamond shark was victorious.
"You fought bravely Wolves, but the Shark has won. I offer Higera to all -combat- units trying to leave P9, but the space station and its former infrastructure are now part of our clan."
After round 3:
CDS Committed 1.50FP - 1.25FP damage = .25FP
"You have won the space station, as you issued in your batchall, and we were specific. But, the infrastructure will be going with us."
A star of fighters volunteered to take up an interdiction, preventing any offensive interdiction from slowing their departure. That simply left the blockade to deal with, if the Sharks chose to fire on the units and infrastructure. There was no doubt that they would.
OOC - 1 FP of fighters stays on defensive interdiction, the default order for aerospace units. This prevents the offensive interdiction from slowing the departing unit. So, we face the blockade there, if the Sharks fire. This will include the infrastructure trying to run the blockade.
[Offensive interdiction was set by units already in the hex, not entering. Going to need a GM ruling on its establishment.]
"You have shown just how far the Wolf has fallen. None of you will be sparred."
[Pending the call on the offensive interdiction, since it will determine what round 4 is.]
I do not see why there is a ruling needed here as the rules clearly state how this works. I will post the rule for Defensive Interdiction and Offensive Interdiction and highlight in red the relevant text. As the Wolfs only used 1 FP in the Trial the rest of the FP would automatically still be on DI until stated otherwise.
QuoteDefensive Interdiction
Type: Special
Requirement: Aerospace units
Effect: Successful interdiction prevents attacking transports from landing their troops. This is the default combat order for defensive aerospace and naval forces, and may be changed before the engagement if the defending player so chooses. If an interdiction is cancelled, there is nothing to stop the transports from landing.
Note: Naval Engagement or Break Interdiction orders can be used to penetrate interdiction. If 25% of the interdiction force is destroyed, the interdiction fails and is no longer effective.
Offensive Interdiction
Type: Special
Requirement: Aerospace units
Effect: Successful interdiction prevents defending transports from retreating from a system. Offensive Interdiction is only possible where no hostile forces are on interdicton, blockade, or naval engagement orders.
Note: Naval Engagement or Break Interdiction orders can be used to penetrate interdiction. If 25% of the interdiction force is destroyed, the interdiction fails and is no longer effective.
Wolf Blockade Escape Rolls
Transfer Station P9 PGC (Aero 1) - 6 FP
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 5, 5, total 10[/blockquote]
Transfer Station P9 PGC (Aero 2) - 5 FP
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 6, 2, total 8[/blockquote]
Transfer Station P9 PGC (BA) - 2 FP
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 2, 4, total 6[/blockquote]
Transfer Station P9 PGC (BA) - 1 FP
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 3, 4, total 7[/blockquote]
Task Force TS 9 - MF 1
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 4, 1, total 5[/blockquote]
Task Force TS 9 - SY 1
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 5, 2, total 7[/blockquote]
Task Force TS 9 - RS 1
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 5, 5, total 10[/blockquote]
Task Force TS 9 - PF 1
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 3, 5, total 8[/blockquote]
Blockade Results:
Successfully ran blockade: None
Evaded Blockading force, but failed to execute move orders:
Transfer Station P9 PGC (Aero 1) - 6 FP
Transfer Station P9 PGC (Aero 2) - 5 FP
Task Force TS 9 - RS 1
Task Force TS 9 - PF 1
Engaged Blockading force:
Transfer Station P9 PGC (BA) - 2 FP
Transfer Station P9 PGC (BA) - 1 FP
Task Force TS 9 - MF 1
Task Force TS 9 - SY 1
Blockading force total: 66.75FP Doing 2d6*5% Damage:
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 1, 4, total 5[/blockquote]
CDS Blockade does 25% of FP as Damage; 16.75FP.
Both BA units would be killed with 13.75FP damage remaining, would the MF and SY take the remaining damage and would they be captured by the blockading force like at Rasalhague?
Pending Damage incurred by the blockading force (1d6*5%) and answer to my above question, init for round 5 of combat.
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 3, 4, total 7[/blockquote]
*poke*
Wolf Damage Roll - 1d6*5%
[blockquote]Rolled 1d6 : 4, total 4[/blockquote]
Clan Wolf does 20% of whatever force does damage.
Quote from: Holt on September 15, 2010, 09:50:02 PM
Both BA units would be killed with 13.75FP damage remaining, would the MF and SY take the remaining damage and would they be captured by the blockading force like at Rasalhague?
Would need a GM answer here.
Clan Wolf will do 20% of 3 FP to the CDS force. Then all of the 13.75 FP of remaining damage goes to the infra. The infra is not captured until all Wolf clan units are destroyed or surrender.
Wolf Rd 5 Init
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 5, 1, total 6[/blockquote]
CDS wins Init.
4th Stingray Garrison ASF Cluster Transported Aero Transported Regular Reliable 33.50FP
Moves to engage the Wolf ASF to establish an offensive interdiction.
CW -
1 FP stays on defensive interdiction
10 FP plus infra tries to run the blockade.
Pretty sure you can't execute orders since I won init. But I'll let the GMs decide.
Just to clarify, my ASF would use Naval Engagement orders which are needed to create an offensive interdiction.
Do I have to quote the rules again? I guess I do.
http://intelser.org/forums/index.php?topic=1103.msg12986#msg12986 (http://intelser.org/forums/index.php?topic=1103.msg12986#msg12986)
Here is the deal. As DI is the AUTOMATIC setting for defensive ASF it doesn't matter that you win init Holt as you can't use OI if there is DI or Blockade or Naval Engagemet in existance. So you win init and it does not change the fact that the Wolf ASAF are still on their AUTOMATIC order. You have to stop the Wolf DI before you can be on OI. And NVA if you won init and put your ASAF on NE Holt could still not use OI. Just please read the rules guys, as it is all spelled out very clearly.
Holt you CAN do a NE in round 5 which will force his ASF to engage you and he will not be able to run the Blockade until he deals with the NE. Now you CANNOT establish an OI while any of the Wolf force is on DI.
4th Stingray Garrison ASF Cluster Transported Aero Transported Regular Reliable 33.50FP
Uses Naval Engagement orders to engage the Wolf ASF.
*Das Bump*
OKay, as only my ASF were NE'd...
ASF remains on DI, facing the NE.
Infra runs the blockade again
Quote from: LittleH13 on September 17, 2010, 03:55:23 PM
Holt you CAN do a NE in round 5 which will force his ASF to engage you and he will not be able to run the Blockade until he deals with the NE. Now you CANNOT establish an OI while any of the Wolf force is on DI.
Damage roll for 33.50FP of ASF:
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 4, 1, total 5[/blockquote]
Damage roll of 5 on the 'outnumber opponent 3:1' is 60%
33.50 * 60% = 20FP of damage.
Holt - Checked with Dave after I posted it. He agreed with my reading. Since you did not NE the infra, it is still able to execute its orders seperately. If you had included it in your NE target, it would not have been able to run.
GMs- Are we establishing the precedence of a non-combat unit being able to blockade run without any escorts? Anytime before this has happened infrastructure has been escorted.
Bump
*bump*
I believe the ruling is because there are units still on the field of battle. All units are trying to escape, you just cut off the ASFs with your NE. That doesn't stop the infra from trying to escape this Round. Next round, assuming all ASF die, there is no attempt available.
Escape Roll MF1 -
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 3, 1, total 4[/blockquote]
Escape Roll SY1 -
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 5, 5, total 10[/blockquote]
Escape Roll RS1 -
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 1, 2, total 3[/blockquote]
Escape Roll PF1 -
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 5, 4, total 9[/blockquote]
Damage Roll -
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 4, 3, total 7[/blockquote]
Quote from: Holt on September 21, 2010, 03:41:53 AM
GMs- Are we establishing the precedence of a non-combat unit being able to blockade run without any escorts? Anytime before this has happened infrastructure has been escorted.
Well, you know what I say about "precedents" and whether or not they exist, but here's the deal with infrastructure transports:
- Infra transports are transported units and function just like any other transported unit except for the key difference that they cannot attack.
- They can still attempt break interdiction and/or blockade running orders if they meet the qualifications to do so.
- In the past we have ruled that in blockade running scenarios infra transports do not deal damage to the blockade force which it is called for, but on further reflection this is incorrect since the damage is being dealt by the abstractly-represented transport dropships, not the cargo carried within.
Basically, break interdiction/blockade running for the purpose of fleeing a star system don't qualify as "initiating combat." This is something I'll probably clarify in the future so the rules are more concrete in this regard.
Bump
Starting Turn 5 Infrastructure:
Task Force TS 9 - RS 1
Task Force TS 9 - PF 1
Task Force TS 9 - MF 1 (-6.75FP)
Task Force TS 9 - SY 1 (-6.75FP)
Engaged Infrastructure by blockade:
Task Force TS 9 - MF 1 (-6.75FP)
Task Force TS 9 - RS 1
Not engaged by blocked, but does not escape:
Task Force TS 9 - SY 1 (-6.75FP)
Task Force TS 9 - PF 1
Blockade Damage:
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 6, 2, total 8[/blockquote]*5%
Naval Engagement:
CDS 33.50FP * 60% = 20FP of damage.
CW 11.00FP * 45% = 5FP of Damage.
Ending
CDS 33.50FP - 5FP = 28.50
CW 11.00FP - 20FP = 0
Blockade does 66.75FP * 40% = 26.75FP Damage
End of Combat:
Captured Infrastructure
Task Force TS 9 - RS 1 (-13.25FP)
Task Force TS 9 - PF 1
Task Force TS 9 - MF 1 (-20.00FP)
Task Force TS 9 - SY 1 (-6.75FP)
Salvage:
Round 1: 1.25FP
Round 2: .50FP
Round 3: .50FP
Round 4: 16.75FP + .75FP
Round 5: 16FP
35.75FP Pool
Salvage Roll:
2d6+15
[blockquote]Rolled 2d6 : 4, 5, total 9[/blockquote]
Ammended Salvage:
Salvage:
Round 1: 1.25FP
Round 2: .50FP
Round 3: .50FP
Round 4: 16.75FP + .75FP
Round 5: 16FP + 26.75FP
62.50FP Pool
62.50FP * 24% = 15.00FP
CDS Ending:
4th Stingray Garrison ASF Cluster 35FP - 1.25FP - 5FP = 28.75 + .75 Battlefield Repair + 5.50 Salvage = 35FP
1st Mantaray Strikers 12.5FP - 0FP = 12.50FP
Might of the Sea 24FP
Fox's Cunning 25.75FP
Haai York 17FP - .75FP = 16.25 + .75FP Salvage = 17FP
Task Force TS 9 - RS 1 (-13.25FP)
Task Force TS 9 - PF 1
Task Force TS 9 - MF 1 (-20.00FP + 2.00FP [18.00FP])
Task Force TS 9 - SY 1 (-6.75FP + 6.75FP Salvage)
Okay....2 questions regarding Dave's ruling...
1 - Can the infra attempt to flee in rd 6 again, since none is captured?
2 - Should the infra be doing damage?
If yes on #1, I will roll for escape one more time.
I sent Dave a PM about it a little earlier ago, basically i cant fathom how a moving factory can do the same damage as a 24FP ASF combat unit.
CDS has established an offensive interdiction, so CW would have to get through that before the blockade.
If moving factories can inflict damage, its going to be hell at Terra when the clans reach it, imagine ~400FP of moving infrastructure becoming basically a combat unit.
Quote from: NVA on September 27, 2010, 05:00:58 PM
Okay....2 questions regarding Dave's ruling...
1 - Can the infra attempt to flee in rd 6 again, since none is captured?
2 - Should the infra be doing damage?
If yes on #1, I will roll for escape one more time.
1. Only if the system is still contested. Infra transport groups do not contest a system on their own, so if your other units are wiped out the infra would be captured.
2. No, but also yes: see bulleted point #3 on the ruling. Infrastructure cannot inflict damage per se, but just as with unescorted ground units their transport dropships do get to shoot back.
Quote from: Holt on September 27, 2010, 05:17:13 PM
If moving factories can inflict damage, its going to be hell at Terra when the clans reach it, imagine ~400FP of moving infrastructure becoming basically a combat unit.
This sounds like a great idea except for two points.
1) Moving factories can't initiate combat orders, so they really only get to fight when they are attacked and/or when they try to run away and are intercepted.
2) Moving factories surrender when they are in an uncontested hostile system.
So please, send all your infrastructure to Terra alone. The Master would be most amused.